060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Cultural heritage » Archaeological heritage » Area archeologica del Sepolcro degli Scipioni

Area archeologica del Sepolcro degli Scipioni

Typology: Monuments


Address: Via di Porta San Sebastiano, 9
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)


Telephone booking: 060608 tutti i giorni ore 9.00-19.00

Opening times

Open to organized groups (max 12 people) by reservation only.

Groups and schools: tel. 0039 060608 (daily from 9.00 to 19.00)

Disable visitors can access only the tomb, but not the columbarium.


Regular Tickets:  
Adults: € 4,00
Concessions: € 3,00
MIC card holders are entitled to free admission.

Free admission to residents in the city of Rome and in the Metropolitan City on the first Sunday of each month.

Please note: The price of the ticket does not include guided tours organized by Cultural Associations.

Phone Booking required
Groups and schools: tel. 0039 060608 (daily from 9.00 to 19.00).

Disabled people Access - services available:
- partially accessible entrance 
- wheelchair path partially accessible
- accessible toilet
- services for blind or partially sighted persons
- services for hearing-impaired - under construction
- services for children

Modalità di partecipazione: Booking required


» Obligatory
» Telephonic

Today's events

Scheduled events


This burial ground is situated near the Via Appia, just off Porta San Sebastiano (the entrance is from street number 9 of via di Porta San Sebastiano) in an area that includes several funeral complexes. The tomb was discovered by chance in 1614. A new discovery took place in 1780 by the owners of the land where the tomb is situated. It belonged to one of the most ancient and famous patrician families of the Roman Republican Age, the Cornelii Scipiones. The tomb was dug out of the tuff bank at the beginning of the third century BC and consists internally of a square room with four large pillars at the center spared by the tuff that divide the room in four galleries. The sarcophagi were placed within spaces dug out specially for them along the walls and the pillars. The sarcophagus of the founder of the family Lucius Cornelius Scipio Barbatus, consul in 298 BC (whose original is now in the Vatican Museums), is situated at the end of the central corridor in front of the entrance. Around the middle of the second century the tomb was enlarged by digging out a smaller single room next to the first one. The external facade also dates back to this period. It consists of a high base with a moulded frame and is surmounted by a prospect of six semicolumns that framed three niches, where the statues of the poet Ennius, Scipio Africanus and Scipio Aemilianus were probably placed. The base was decorated with paintings of historical scenes and a stylized wave motif. Traces of the decorations remain. Three arched doors open on the same base: a blind door (now replaced by a passage that leads to a medieval calcar that has partly damaged the tomb), a central door that led into the more ancient tomb and a door on the right (the only one still preserved) that accesses the more recent tomb. When the Cornelii Scipiones family died away at the beginning of the empire, the tomb was reused shortly in the Julian-Claudian Age (beginning of the first century AD) by their heirs the Cornelii Lentuli that used some of the loculi for cremations.


» Accessible to disabled people
» Hygienic Facilities for Disabled
» Partly accessible to disabled

All'interno di

Culture and leisure › Cultural heritage › Archaeological heritage

Agreement with

Hospitality › Services › Tourist services and fairs

See also

Culture and leisure › Green › Gardens, villas and urban parks
Last checked: 2021-10-15 16:30