Roma Capitale
Zètema Progetto Cultura
060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Historic places of worship » Catholic Churches » Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso
Typology: Non Parish Church


Other: Piazza dell'Oratorio, 70
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)


Telephone: 06 6797017

Opening times

For the timetable of the masses and visiting conditions, please consult the contacts.


ORATORY of the SS. MOCROCIFISSO The Brotherhood of the Crocifissowas founded in 1520 to preserve the veneration of a crucified who miraculouslygot over a fire in 1519 which ultimately destroyed the close church of SanMarcello. In 1559 the brothers ordered the construction of the community houseand of an oratory based on a project by Giacomo Della Porta. Restored in 1801 andin 1878, today it houses the Oratorio Musicale Romano. The façade is based on twoorders tripartite into pilaster strips. On the lower one there is anarchitraved portal surrounded by empty niches. In the upper order, a bigtombstone was placed in memory of Cardinal Farnese, who contributed to thebuilding of the oratory. The interior, based on a unique nave,embodies frescoed walls with stories of the Cross, works by Pomarancio, P.Nogari, B. Croce, C. Nebbia, G. De Vecchi (C.XVI - XVII).
Last checked: 2022-09-05 17:08