Roma Capitale
Zètema Progetto Cultura
060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Historic places of worship » Catholic Churches » Chiesa Santissimo Nome di Maria al Foro Traiano
Typology: Non Parish Church


Address: Piazza della Madonna di Loreto
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)


Telephone: 06 6798013
Web site: www.ssnomemaria.it

Opening times

For the timetable of the masses and visiting conditions, please consult the contacts.


Its origins date back to 1736. It was built on the area where the fifteenth-century church of San Bernardo was located, upon a project by the French architect Antoine Dérizet. In 1743, the latter was succeeded by Mauro Fontana who, and with Agostino Masucci decorated the interior of the church. In its lower part, the façade consists of abasement of columns and pilaster strips among which the entry portal opens up.The balustrade that separates the two orders embodies statues of evangelists and prophets. On the upper order is the dome’s tambour with pilaster strips that delimit eight spaces in which the windows open up. The interior, decorated with polychrome marbles, is based on a circular plan with chapels based on a ray pattern. The medallions that decorate the dome are frescoed with stories of Mary. On the high altar is a painting of the Vergin with child painted on wood (Romanesque school C. XII).
Last checked: 2022-07-05 10:01