060608


Roma Capitale
Zètema Progetto Cultura
060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Cultural heritage » Architectural and historical heritage » Palzzo Fani Pecci Blunt
Typology: Buildings

Address

Address: Piazza D'Aracoeli, 3
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano- Campidoglio-P.Venezia) (Roma centro)

Opening times

Can only be visited during events, receptions and congresses.

Description

The palace was built in the sixteenth century by the Paluzzi Albertoni family; in the middle of the century it passed into the hands of the Gottardi family and was sold to Mario Fani, who in the late sixteenth century had it renovated by Giacomo Della Porta, who lived there. In the mid-seventeenth century, it became the first residence in Rome of the Ruspoli family of Sienese origin; when they moved to the palace in Via del Corso in 1745, the building was sold to the Malatesta family and finally, in the nineteenth century, to the Pecci Blunt family, the current owners. The original façade has an off-centre portal flanked by four windows with grilles and sills supported by corbels. On the first floor there are five architraved windows marked by a continuous stringcourse; on the second floor there are smaller windows with simple frames. The cornice, with corbels and rosettes, is decorated with a frieze of spirals. Above is another floor, the result of a 19th-century elevation, and a square roof-terrace with two arches on each side. The corners are marked by vertical ashlar bands. The side facing Via della Tribuna di Tor de' Specchi has a large rusticated portal with seven windows on each side, and nine windows on the first and second floors.
Last checked: 2021-05-28 11:41