Roma Capitale
Zètema Progetto Cultura
060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Cultural heritage » Archaeological heritage » Casa Romana sotto il Museo di Scultura Antica Giovanni Barracco
Typology: Monuments


Address: Via dei Baullari, 1
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)


Opening times

Special opening of the Casa Romana from 25 February to 25 september 2022 on Saturdays and Sundays only.
Entrance only with required reservation
, for groups and individual visitors, at 060608 every day from 9.00 to 19.00


» Obligatory
» Telephonic


The structures that can be seen beneath the building, at about 4 meters from the current street level, were discovered in 1899 when the building was restored. A greater part of the remains may be dated back to the 4th Century, revealing different building periods and may have been used for different purposes. A portico with columns, made of available material (three Tuscan capitals turned upside down, used as bases) has been partly preserved. The paving, still in existence, reflects the different building periods: the first previous piece, in large rectangular marble slabs, was there prior to the portico and shows interesting antique restoring. The walls, decorated with frescoes with aquatic subjects and landscapes, were removed during the seventies and are at present kept at the Museum. It is understood that these underground structures lead to a public building in the Campo Marzio (to be used for the four equestrian factions competing in Rome) while at a later date, this area became a private residence.

All'interno di

Culture and leisure › Cultural heritage › Museums

See also

Culture and leisure › Cultural heritage › Architectural and historical heritage
Last checked: 2022-08-08 15:47