060608


Roma Capitale
Zètema Progetto Cultura
060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Cultural heritage » Archaeological heritage » Aula Isiaca con la Loggia Mattei

Contacts

Opening times

temporarily closed

Information

The Aula Isiaca with Loggia Mattei is part of the Super Sites and can be accessed

- with the ticket Roman Forum-Palatino Super € 16,00 (TEMPORARILY DISCONTINUED)
(valid for one day, it allows a single access to the archaeological area of the Roman Forum, Imperial Forums and Palatine, including ongoing exhibitions, and, up to the maximum capacity, to the special SUPER sites)

- with Full Experience ticket € 22,00
(ordinary ticket including access to the Roman Forum, Imperial Forum, Palatine, Super Sites, Colosseum including Arena or Underground)

Reduced price ticket € 2,00 (citizens between 18 and 25 years old of the European Union and of the countries in condition of reciprocity)

Reservation fee € 2,00

For those who already have an ordinary Colosseum-Roman Forum-Palatine ticket, it is possible to purchase a SUPER ticket on site which will allow access to the Super sites at a cost of € 6.00.

Description

The Aula Isiaca, discovered in 1912 below the Basilica of the Domus Flavia, was part of the vast residence of Augustus. The chamber is decorated with frescoes that can be dated around 30 B.C., with numerous references to Egypt and the goddess Isis, such as lotus flowers, snakes, ritual vases and garlands of roses, which justify its current name.

The Loggia Mattei, on the other hand, was frescoed in the 1620s by the workshop of Baldassarre Peruzzi, and is all that remains of the villa built by the Stati family, which then passed to the Mattei family in 1561. The vault, decorated with grotesques, is framed by a yellow frieze with masks inside which are the Mattei coat of arms and two mythological panels: the Marriage of Hercules and Hebe and Venus between Cupid and the Muses. The sails are decorated with blue background roundels with the signs of the zodiac. The wall frescoes with scenes from the myth of Venus and Adonis were removed in 1846 and transferred to the Hermitage Museum, where they remain today. A few years later, the mythological representations and the tondos with the signs of the zodiac were also detached and sold to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York; a loan agreement in the 1990s allowed them to be returned to their original site.

Within

Culture and leisure › Cultural heritage › Archaeological heritage
Last checked: 2021-08-26 11:50